Overwhelmed Much?

Happy March 1st! Can’t believe it is March already!

Rob’s job requires quite a bit of travel. When he was offered his position in 2010 we were faced with the difficult decision of moving South away from family and accepting the travel requirement of the position. At the time, I didn’t really think about how it would be with a baby when he travels. Let’s just say I am still adjusting! A typical day in the Bach household when he travels goes something like this:

  • 5:30 wake and get ready for work, eat breakfast if I have time, throw the ball for Sadie in the backyard and feed her. Get peanut up and ready for daycare and feed her. Morning time always involves a monster poop and/or spit up so a diaper change and/or outfit change is required. Keep her entertained while I finish getting ready for work (some mornings she will fall asleep but others she sits in her bouncy seat). After getting ready I will pack up peanut and load the car.
  • Out the door between 7 and 7:15 (days he doesn’t travel I leave between 7:15 and 7:30 but I try to leave a little earlier the days he travels so I can pick her up earlier) to get to daycare then off to work.
  • Leave work and pick up M from daycare between 4:30 and 5:00, get home and feed Mikayla, run the dog in the backyard, feed the dog, wash bottles, prepare bottles for the next day, “clean” the kitchen, bath time for Mikayla, last feeding of the night (usually around 7-7:30), Mikayla to bed, Mom eats dinner and finishes things that may not have gotten done like washing bottles and/or preparing bottles, put a load of laundry in, play with Sadie one more time, take a shower (I shower the night before work),  pick out an outfit for the next day, and FINALLY B E D!

Whoa! Stress much? Yes. It is stressful and at times overwhelming. Some nights she will be fussy and want to be held rather than hanging out in the swing or bouncy seat. Sometimes she will take a 15 minute cat nap and other times she won’t nap making her very tired. The dog tends to stress me out too! We have recently gotten a fence for her but she wants me to go outside and throw the ball……every ten minutes! If Mikayla needs to eat I obviously can’t get to the dog right away. She is still adjusting to being number 2 and I feel guilty at times because she is in the house all day for 9-10 hours and wants to run. Sometimes I just can’t get to her right away and I am learning to deal with that.

For whatever reason my drive to daycare in the afternoon becomes daunting! Don’t get me wrong, I am so excited to see my peanut but all I can think/worry about is how much I have to do when I get home, how the dog will react, if M will be fussy or not, if I can find time to eat something, etc, etc. In addition to that I feel guilty putting her down to do something because I haven’t seen her all day and want to spend time with her. Right now I don’t have the confidence to say “I can handle it”. I hope with time and her getting older it will become easier for me. Even with my stress I wouldn’t trade it for anything because Rob loves his job and is making leaps and bounds in his new role and has been able to provide wonderful things for our family so it is all worth it in the end!

Do you have times when you feel overwhelmed? How do you get through it and get to the point when you can say… “I got this”?

Thanks for reading! C

3 thoughts on “Overwhelmed Much?

  1. You are doing a great job! I feel overwhelmed all of the time! Bailey is an attention wh*re now that he is back to his old self-silly puppy. He and Sadie should compare notes! I ask my friends with older kids when they felt like they started to have their shit together and they all said never, haha. I guess we just get used to it!

  2. It gets easier!!! I promise! OK so there are definitely new challenges that come along with older age but I can’t tell you how huge it is when the kids can help get themselves dressed, brush their own teeth, make their bed, go to the bathroom by themselves. So it takes work getting them to that point but it WILL happen. There will be a day when you can take a shower when the kids are still awake. Morning are still rough for me too, but believe me it is not the same as trying to leave and the baby pooping or spitting up, or randomly being hungry again. You are doing awesome!!!! All Moms I know feel exactly the same xoxo Heart U!

Leave a Reply

