Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chicken

Happy Monday friends! I HATE Monday’s! The Bach household was shut down this weekend with what I am assuming is a 24 hour bug going around. I started feeling sick Saturday evening and thought it was food poisoning. Sure enough, Rob got it 24 hours after me and he is home sick today. I am praying my peanut doesn’t get this bug but I am sure she probably will. So now it is a waiting game!

Enough of stomach bugs! I would like to share an awesome recipe from my BF Katie, Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chicken in the crock pot! This is such an easy dish to make and tastes awesome. Below is her recipe that I modified a bit but you can check out her full blog post at LegallyFitBlog.com

Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chicken
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time:  6-8 hours
Ingredients 
  • 3-5 pound roast chicken
  • 2 tablespoons butter melted
  • a few sprigs of rosemary (the first time i used waaaay too many and the house smelled of rosemary for days! lol oops)
  • half of an onion, diced
  • 2 lemons, cut in half
  • Salt and pepper
 
Directions
  • Ensure that you remove the bag of innards from the inner cavity of the chicken
  • Rinse the chicken and pat dry, coat with melted butter.
  • Place chopped onion inside of cavity, along with half of an unjuiced lemon.
  • Place chicken inside of crock pot 
  • Juice the remaining lemon over the chicken, and then place the lemons alongside the top of it.
  • Arrange the rosemary sprigs along the chicken.
  • Spread about 1/4 teaspoon of salt and pepper over the chicken.
  • Set the timer on your crock pot to six to eight hours, to cook on the low setting. My crock pot tends to cook everything in 6 hours.
And that’s it!
After six to eight hours, check the temperature of the chicken with a meat thermometer (it should be at least 180 degrees).  It should look something like this:
\
 
Thanks to Katie for this awesome and easy chicken recipe! Anyone else have an awesome crock pot recipe they would like to share?
3 thoughts on “Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chicken

  1. Crock pots are a Mom’s best friend 🙂 I’m sorry to hear you were sick and now your Hubby has it too. I’ve been making dried beans in my crock pot lately to cut back on the amount of canned stuff I use. It is really easy to do.

  2. Hey: thank you for using time of composing up this important information. I continually aim to additionally my knowledge of stuff. Whether or not I concur or disagree, I really like knowledge. I bear in mind the old days once the only source of important information was the library or the newspaper. They both appear to be so old fashion. : )

Leave a Reply

