Instead

Society today puts a ton of pressure on us to be the perfect and ideal mold of a mother. The pressure that is put on women to be the perfect mother, to snap back to pre-pregnancy weight and slip into those designer fit jeans, have a perfect and healthy child that sleeps through the night by 3 months, work again as soon as possible, be the perfect housewife, continue to cook extraordinary dinners for the family, etc. is just plain ridiculous bullshit.

Instead of listening to the rants of what we “should be doing” as a new mother how about we applaud ourselves for what we enjoy doing and what we are physically and emotionally able to do.  I remember when I was on maternity leave and some days I was so emotionally exhausted all I could do for the day was take a shower. That’s it. To me, that was my accomplishment that day. If I didn’t get to cross anything off on my to-do list, I didn’t care. As long as I did something small like take a shower, I felt accomplished.

Instead of friends, family, co-workers and neighbors pointing out what their kids, grandkids, nieces, nephews, etc. have done so well and what they think is best, we should concentrate on what WE do best and what works for US. If that means that your baby sleeps better on his/her belly rather than their back, then so be it. If that means having to put your baby in daycare and return to a full-time job in order to support your family and give them the life you have always wanted for them, then so be it. At the end of the day it is about that little miracle of life and what is best for them not what society, websites, and TV shows say we “should do”.

Instead of watching these moms on TV with their perfect hair, perfect bodies, perfect babies and wondering how they do it, realize that it’s never real! We should never compare ourselves to what these “reality” TV moms can do so well because it is fake. I bet when the cameras are turned off they struggle with the everyday demands of life just like us.

To all the future moms-to-be, being a mother and juggling everyday life demands and pressures will be the hardest job of your life. At the end of the day, the reward of your little one smiling up at you makes it all worth it.

To all the moms out there, applaud yourself for all you have done and continue to do on a daily basis for your little peanut. After all, we did create HUMAN LIFE in our womb in just 9 months and THAT in itself is the biggest accomplishment that we should be applauded for.

~CB

7 thoughts on “Instead

  1. I totally agree. When Andrew was a little bitty thing I was always worried that I was doing things wrong because he wasn’t sleeping in his crib yet when it seemed like all the other moms on my message board had their babies in cribs. I kept comparing myself to them on so many things and finally my husband pointed out that Andrew was happy and healthy and we are doing just fine. Thankfully I haven’t had many people tell me that I should be doing things differently, but if they do I’ve gotten good at ignoring them 🙂

  2. Hells to the yeah woman. Seriously. It is like the mom guilt is never ending. I am always questioning something-am I playing with her too much, not enough etc. we need to just relax and let it be! You’re doing awesome 🙂

    Ps I miss you lol

Leave a Reply

