Kitchen Backsplash – Phase 1: decisions!

Our next house project is on the horizon! We are working on tile backsplash in the kitchen. Only problem…picking one!! We found two that we like from Lowes and brought them home to put on display for a few days in hopes to make a decision. Well, I don’t think I like either. Let me rephrase, I “like” both but I don’t LOVE them. I want to LOVE my backsplash. I am thinking that I don’t like the pattern? Maybe go with smaller squares? I like the idea of glass mosaic tile. I think we are going to try Home Depot and check out their selection. Below is a picture I took with my iphone (LOVE my new iphone ;-)). Which do you prefer?? (hubby likes the left) Any suggestions on color, shape, size, etc?

photo

~CB

10 thoughts on “Kitchen Backsplash – Phase 1: decisions!

  1. Congrats on your backsplash project! I was cooking last night and while looking around was trying to think of a backsplash color scheme that would go with our brown/black/creme kitchen…. I gotta get on this project soon too!

    I like the two options you have too… very similar. I like the left one better because it brings out the countertop more. What color are your floors? Do you want to stay with the grey/white/black or put in a pop of color? I ask because I want a pop of color in my kitchen but I don’t know what goes with Black & Brown… ?

    If you have time, go grab some more samples… a couple different ones, even out of the box ones to just try out. Can’t wait to see how it goes… good luck!

    • thanks! The cabinets are cherry and we have a brown hard wood in the kitchen. The countertops look black but have a tint of green. The kitchen eat in area is painted green around the panel molding. I think thats why the green one might be too green? I wanted to go with something lighter since we have dark cabinets, countertops and floors.

      • Maybe you could find another backsplash with a pop of green, instead of a tint? But not too much green. I see why you were looking at the one with a tint, but against the dark cherry cabinets & dark black countertop, it just looks creme.. maybe a little darker/bolder green accent? Love to see what you find 🙂

  2. I will have to ask Brian- he is so good at this kind of stuff! I agree, you should keep looking- you have to love it!

  3. I love this look. We’re currently looking for a house, and I’ve seen backslashes like this, and the finished product is really nice. Maybe it’s the color you’re not loving? I’m wondering if you need something to incorporate the cabinetry a little more?

    OMG, what happened to me??? I remember when I used to obsess about clothes and shoes…

    Please post pics of the finished product!!!

  4. That is so tough! They are both really nice. I know what you mean, you want to LOVE it! You want it to make you smile every time you look at it. I know you’ll find the right one for you.

Leave a Reply

